Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony

12 Ensemble

Shostakovich Chamber Symphony (arr. of Quartet No. 8)

Dowland Lachrimae Antiquae

Caroline Shaw Entr’Acte

Thomas Adès O Albion (from string quartet ‘Arcardiana’)


‘Spunk, originality and class’

THE STRAD on the 12 Ensemble


Since its CMF debut in 2018, the 12 Ensemble has appeared at major venues and festivals worldwide – from the BBC Proms and Wigmore Hall to the exciting new Hamburg Elbphilharmonie – and been nominated for a prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society Award.

The Ensemble eschews the trappings of both conductor and chairs, lending their performances a dynamic energy that impresses audiences and critics.

The centrepiece of their return to Cambridge is one of Shostakovich’s best-loved works, the Chamber Symphony (originally his String Quartet No.8). By turns solemn and ferocious, with a darkly sardonic waltz in the third movement, the overall effect can be desolate yet profoundly moving.

The rest of the programme looks back: John Dowland’s ‘Old Tears’ were originally written for a consort of viols; the Pulitzer prize-winning composer Caroline Shaw draws inspiration from Haydn minuets; and Thomas Adès’ hushed and wistful ode to Albion closes the evening.

Event Details

Friday 25 June 2021

West Road Concert Hall

One hour concert with no interval


£25, £18, £12. Under 18s £8.

Over 18s in Full Time Education £10.

Please read our Covid-safe measures (in full here) and ensure you are comfortable with them before booking. They include the following:

  • Mandatory face-coverings
  • Full power ventilation which may make the hall feel cool or cold
  • There will be no bar service available

The seating plan shows every other seat as ‘unavailable’ – this is an intentional measure to maintain social distancing. If you book for more than one person there will be a space between members of your party. Even if you are members of the same household we ask that you please do not ‘move up’ when you arrive as it compromises the distancing with rows in front and behind. Thank you.